My Koriyama Castle

While my new flat in Japan is a single-room accommodation and not really a castle, it’s probably the largest room I’ve had in years. It’s a few minutes’ walk to the downtown area and main train station, with the largest of the mountains in the opposite direction. Besides the numerous 24-7 Family Mart convenience stores, there’s a surprising number of 7-11s, dotting the city grid much as Wal-Mart dots the entirety of Pennsylvania.

Entrance through small kitchen with sliding door into main room

Entrance through small kitchen with sliding door into main room

2014-01-12 17.12.09

I took something of each of you with me – can you spot yours?

Steaming Tea

Drinking Megan’s delicious tea on an overcast morning

Umi Bouzo

Before bed, I drew this yokai (Japanese spirit), Umibōzu, which hangs on my wall with all the maps of the places I’ve been to

More pictures to come soon!

One thought on “My Koriyama Castle

  1. Pingback: Sumo Surfing | The Japan Saga

Leave a comment